Chris Priest on typewriters

A beautiful reflective piece by Christopher Priest on typewriters and other writing instruments he has known.

I do remember him writing in the early to mid 1980s (probably in a fanzine) that he was very suspicious of word processing, because it led to facile composition. Since at that time I still composed in the way I had at college; in longhand which could be typed up and then “cut and paste” to edit, I felt a certain kinship with this sentiment!

Now I wouldn’t dream of writing that way, but I still can’t shake the feeling that it’s facile. I wonder if he still feels the same way.

One response to “Chris Priest on typewriters

  1. Pingback: Christopher Priest announces new novel | Open Geography

Leave a Reply

